Thursday, February 3, 2011

Crimson Wind - A Review

Crimson Wind - Diana Pharaoh Francis (publisher for blog tour/review)

Product Details

  • Pub. Date: December 2010
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback , 368pp
  • Sales Rank: 72,114



Max knows what trusting the wrong person can cost you. Her former friend Giselle, a powerful witch, enslaved Max years ago, turning her into a Shadowblade—a deadly warrior compelled to fight for Giselle. But there’s more at stake now than Max’s thirst for revenge. The Guardians, overseers of the magical world, have declared war on humanity and on any witches not standing with them. Max and Giselle have come to an uneasy truce in order to protect what’s left of Horngate, their coven’s home. Max would do anything for Horngate—even give herself over to a mysterious otherworldly creature in the nearby mountains in exchange for his help. But first, she intends to save the mortal family she left behind. And Alexander, the Shadowblade warrior who could be her closest ally or her deadliest enemy, is going with her.

On a road trip into the unknown, Max and Alexander face wild magic, desperate enemies, and battles that bruise both body and soul. But the greatest challenge will come from unexpected revelations that test everything Max believes about who she is—and where her loyalties lie. . . .

My Thoughts:

This went a little slower for me than the first book did. Though I do not know why. It was chocked full of action and tons of characters. I loved getting to know returning characters a bit more and have found some new ones I am looking forward to getting to know better in upcoming books.

There was lots going on in this book. Never a dull moment that is for sure. I don't recommend reading this if you don't like cliff hangers or abrupt endings. This definitely has one of those. So if you're a person who can't wait, might be best to wait until book 3 is due. If you have patience, definitely check this one out. A solid second book of a series!

Author's Website: Diana Pharaoh Francis